Random Stuff I Notice

Hi folks and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. Well, this week I’m going to talk about some random things that I have noticed. Some may be obvious to you and others not. However, I’ve been meaning to do this for a long time and I finally decided to do this.

In the episode A Fish Called Selma, when Troy McClure says “can I play the piano anymore?” The voice answers “yes you can” and troy replies “well I couldn’t before.” Doesn’t that remind you of a bit George Carlin did on his debut album Take Offs and Put Ons, where he is on afternoon TV. He does a bit on soap operas and the one he does is called Doctor Place. It’s so funny that the patient doesn’t even speak until right near the end of the bit. All he did was make groaning noises until he asked “oh, Doc… Doc… will I evern play the violin? “The doctor says “see no reason why you shouldn’t with proper care.” The patient said “oh that’s great Doc I could never play it before.”

Next, in the first few seasons of The Simpsons we hear birds singing, during the dialog at home with the family. I haven’t heard it in the more recent seasons in the past 5 years or so. Why?

On Songs In The Key of Springfield the ending music to Treehouse Of Horror has a different mix, then what we hear at the end of Treehouse of Horror 5. In the episode the guitar is louder in the mix than almost everything else but on the album the mix is much more even.

On “Weird Al” Yankovic’s parity of the classic John Mellencamp song Jack and Diane entitled Homer and Marge, I notice that the pick the guitarist is using on the is a softer one, while on John Mellencamp’s studio version a harder pick seems to be the one that is being used on the acoustic guitar. I can tell by the clicks as the strings are being strummed! How do I know this? I am a guitarist and use a harder pick to play.

In the earlier seasons, Nelson Muntz’s voice was much higher and less raspy then it is now. I wonder why?

Have you noticed that the majority of the new students at Springfield Elementary school have only appeared in one episode for the most part? For example: Samantha stanky and Allison Taylor have only appeared in one episodewith speaking parts, along with Francine in the episode Bye-Bye Nerdy. The same can be said for the replacement or substitute teachers, who come into the students and our lives as well.

Those are some of the random things I have noticed over the years and there are probably more but I can’t think of them now. Anyway, enjoy tonights episode Halloween Of Horror and also next week’s installment of Treehouse Of Horror, where Sideshow Bob finally kills Bart. I’ll try and come up with something to go along with that for next week.

Well that’s about it for this Simpsons Sunday post. In the mean time, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
Also, check out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
Don’t forget about Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
Additionally, for more news on The Simpsons, you can go to http://news.simpsonswiki.com/
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. If you follow me on Twitter or are my friend on Facebook you can comment directly to me that way too.
You can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

