The Best Of Treehouse Of Horror

Hi folks and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. Did anybody watch the latest episode Halloween Of Horror? A couple of things with that episode to keep in mind: this is not an annual Treehouse Of Horror episode and it is part of the Simpson’s timeline. Also, check out the similar sounding song to the classic Rocky Horror Picture Show hit Time Warp near the end of the episode. It is in the same vayne as songs as We Put The Spring in Springfield, in that multiple characters sing the song. I should’ve seen that coming but I didn’t!

This week I’m going to try and talk about the Treehouse Of Horror series. I say that because I have long resisted watching them because they aren’t really a part of the Simpsons timeline and are their own beast. Actually, I’m going to talk about the episodes during the first few seasons. I downloaded some of the episodes that came with the seasons that are available on iTunes and have had help from a friend, with getting more of them, that I can’t find. I like the first few of them because they all came out of the era, which most fans refer to as the “golden era” of the show, from Season’s 3 to around Season 8.

Some of my favourite short stories are:

Bad Dream House

In which the family purchase a new house that brainwashes the family to kill each other, except for Marge. Marge hears the house talking and yells at it to stop pushing the family around and show some manners and says that they are all going to have to get used to living together. The house asks for a minute to think about it and when the family step outside the house implodes.

The Devil And Homer Simpson

In which, Homer is searching for donuts and Lenny and Karl tell him that they chucked the last donuts at an old man for kicks. Homer then says “I’d cell my soul for a donut: and Ned Flanders in the form of the Devil, appears and offers him a donut but warns him that if Homer finishes it, he gets Homer’s soul. Homer of course, eventually does and Homer is sent to Hell, before Marge has requested that there should be a trial, as to whom owns Homer’s soul. Devil Flanders reluctantly agrees but chooses his own jury and after Marge shows a pledge that Homer made that she own his soul to the court, Marge is found to be the legal owner of Homer’s soul. However, Homer is sentenced to have his head turned into a giant doughnut.

This last favorite story is one I don’t know the title of. It’s the one where the family arrive at Mr. Burns’s winter house and all cable TV and beer supplies are cut off. Homer goes to Moe for a beer and Moe says that if he kills his family he can have one. This leads to the classic “no TV and no beer make Homer something something.”

Those are my three favourite stories from different episodes of the Treehouse Of Horror series and I’m looking forward to tonights Installment and in particular, Sideshow Bob finally killing BART. Not that I want Bart to die but I just want to hear how bark dies at the hands of the ex clown and maniacal genius. I wouldn’t want Bart to be killed off for real… I like the little guy. I know what he is capable of but I don’t think and never thought he was all bad. I would never want to hurt him for anything!

On the birthday front, the voice of Bart Simpson herself Nancy Cartwright turns another year older today. I’ve heard that she is 58 but to me, she sounds years younger, like she is in her 20s or something.

Also, it is the second anniversary of Marcia Wallace’s death and we know her as the voice of Mrs. Krabappel, Bart’s fourth grade teacher. Now, Mrs. Berrera will be the new teacher and I hope that she will become just as popular in time. We still miss you Marcia and I wish I had a chance to meet you!

Well that’s about it for this Simpsons Sunday post. In the mean time, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
Also, check out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
Don’t forget about Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
Additionally, for more news on The Simpsons, you can go to http://news.simpsonswiki.com/
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. If you follow me on Twitter or are my friend on Facebook you can comment directly to me that way too.
You can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

