Favourite Mrs. Krabappel Moments

Hi folks and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. It is the first of November and we have changed the clocks back an hour so, winter is coming and it blows. I watched some of the latest Treehouse Of Horror and I expected more of a dramatic killing of Bart, from Sideshow Bob. However, I’m glad the little guy is still with us and entertaining us, along with his Dad, Homer.

This week I’m going to list my favourite moments from Mrs. Krabappel’s time on The Simpsons. They are mainly from the first few seasons and I do not count any of the Treehouse Of Horror in any of my list because they stand on their own.

The first one is where she comforts Bart, after he makes an effort to pass the fourth grade and cries when he is failed, again. She passes him, after he makes a reference to something that happened in 1754 and he kisses her and then regrets it.

The next one is when she is stood up by Woodrow and she cries. This is of course, after she makes Bart stay for detention and he writes a fake love letter as her potential lover, Woodrow. Of course, he feels bad about it and the family write her a goodbye letter and she and Bart make it a date, with detention outside.

My next favourite moment is actually from Season 21, when the class spike her coffee, in order to get her layed back. She gets wild and then gets fired. After this, Bart is the only one who actually comes to see her, because he didn’t mean for it to turn out that way.

My final favourite moment in her life is when her and Ned Flanders meet and then become a couple and marry. Unfortunately, Marcia Wallace’s death in 2013 ended that nice relationship for them both. It’s a shame that her death occurred because I’m sure there could have been many funny plots for her and Ned to play a central roll in. There are many more great moments which involve her but I just came up with these ones as I wrote this.

On the birthday front, Dan Castellaneta turned another year older on Thursday. He is of course, the voice of Homer, Krusty The Clown, Sideshow Mel, Barney, Abe Simpson and many others. There are times when you can hear his real voice come out as minor characters. For example: in the episode New Kid On The Block his character says to Homer “please don’t take the steam tray… Sir.” Nancy Cartwright describes him as an incredibly nice guy and I believe it, from his interviews I have heard and not from his character portrayals or voices. For example: I don’t think that he is anything like Homer or Krusty. Those two characters can be impatient and pushy at times and I can’t see Dan being like that at all.

Another birthday of note is Seth MacFarlane, who guest starred in the Season 24 finale Dangers On A Train as Ben. Of course, he also created and voices many characters on Family Guy too.

Finally, Marcia Wallace, would have been 73 today. Need I say more? I still believe it when those who tweeted about her being very kind, around the day she passed away are spot on. I’ve never met her but I can tell mostly from how she speaks during her interviews and how she answers questions. It’s a ral shame that we have been robbed of her wonderful character Edna Krabappel by her unfortunate death, 2 years ago October 25th. We miss you Marcia!
Well that’s about it for this Simpsons Sunday post. In the mean time, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
Also, check out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
Don’t forget about Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
Additionally, for more news on The Simpsons, you can go to http://news.simpsonswiki.com/
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. If you follow me on Twitter or are my friend on Facebook you can comment directly to me that way too.
You can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

