Encounters With Trucks

Hi folks. If you have read more than one post over the last year or so, you know that the bus stop outside of my building at 250 Davenport has been removed, in favour of a bike share and we as pedestrians have to walk to another bus stop, in order to take transit to get around town. Unfortunately, this has resulted in myself encountering the back end of a truck going both ways on my journey, from home and back home.

Just before 8:00 AM I had left the apartment to go to my bank, in order to take out money and of course, I had to walk to the bus stop in order to get a bus, which goes toward my destination and, my bank’s home branch. On the way, I had walked into the back end of a truck which was clearly on the sidewalk and I had to be helped around it, I missed my bus stop and my bus and so, I had to wait extra minutes at the stop, in order for me to do my business. On the way back home minutes after 9:00, much the same thing had happened to me and in both instances, I had fired off emails to my City Councillor and as I had expected, no replies to my emails yet. However, I will be expecting something in my inbox shortly, as I had fired off 3 emails about the lack of a bus stop outside our building and I have contacted someone I can trust in the media, who knows people who are blind and can sympathize with my situation… at least on that level. Again, both times I had to be helped and this was not necessary and uncalled for

With my first meeting with a truck, I walked into it and at a normal walking pace. On the way back, I was fortunately walking slower, but not out of any fear of what happened going the other way. Thankfully, I am unheard and what saved me was waring my hat, which is still intact and has no damage to it. The only damage could be to my emotions, but other than that I was lucky. However, what if someone else like me happens to have the same encounter with a truck bed and hurts themself? I am not the only one who has had accidents going between my building and the bus stop on the west side of the road.

So, what can be done about this? People in my building are trying their damnedest to get our bus stop back and so far, it seems that it is going much slower than it should, with the 2023 by-election and the resignation of John Tory fucking things up. What would it take for something to give and for someone who has a say, to realize that what had happened in September 2022 may have been a mistake? Does it take someone getting hurt badly, or even killed? I have no wish to be a blood sacrifice, in order for change to be brought about and for the right thing to be done, in favour of residence of where I live. there should also be no strings attached, because this is simply a matter of safety and this could be a potential threat to human life. It may not seem that way on the surface, but if you think about it carefully there is something to what I’m saying here. I have done what I can for now and the ball is in the various courts, for those who wish to take this up further. By the way, I refuse to be a poster boy for blind people, but at the same time I wish to draw attention to what has happened to me and I do not wish to be a top news story, of someone getting killed for no reason which could’ve been preventable. I hope I get a reply soon, from either the city, or my friend in the media, whom I follow on X and who follows me too.

Leave a comment