From When It All Began

Hi there and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. Today is the 28th anniversary of The Simpsons Shorts first airing on The Tracey Ulman Show, during commercial breaks as interstitials.

Dan Castellaneta and Julie Kavner were already regulars on the show and were tapped to portray and voice Homer and Marge, respectively. Nancy Cartwright and Yeardley Smith auditioned for and of course, got the parts for Bart and Lisa. Although, it is interesting to note that they both were slated to play the opposite character as Nancy was supposed to be Lisa and Yeardley was supposed to get the part for Bart originally. However, that was not to be as Yeardley’s voice was too high for a boy, so she took the part of Lisa instead. Nancy liked Lisa but there wasn’t much teath to the character at the time, so she took a look at Bart and found this character much more fun to play and I think we know how that turned out for all 4 actors.. They of course, all went on to reprise all their respective rolls and many more on The Simpsons series and well, the rest is history.

On the birthday front, happy belated birthday to former Simpsons staff writer and now late-night talkshow host Conan O’Brien, who turned another year older yesterday. If you don’t know, he wrote for the show, during Seasons 4 and part of Season 5, with his best loved episodes being: Marge VS The Monorail and Homer Goes To college. He also shared co-writing credits in the Season 5 installment of Treehouse Of Horror as well. He also guest starred on the episode Bart Gets Famous, in which Bart actually gets famous for his catchphrase “I didn’t do it”. Why that and most other beloved episodes I have mentioned are not available on iTunes is beyond me but I am hopeful this will change, despite how popular streaming is right now.

Well, that’s about it for this Sundays post. In the mean time, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
Additionally, for more news on The Simpsons, you can go to http://news.simpsonswiki.com/
It is new so, give it time to grow.You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a comment